The scrapbuster quilts

The day before Christmas I gifted two quilts to my nieces, 11 & 13.  Sweet, thoughtful children these are and I am so pleased to get to give them quilts for Christmas.

Here is Emma with her quilt.

I blogged about working on these quilts here.

I have my scraps sorted several different ways.

One of my scrap baskets holds 7″ squares.  7″ squares sounds like a weird size, and it is.  When I first started quilting I discovered that I could (6) 7″ squares out of a 7″ strip of fabric perfectly, without any waste.  So this is the size I used in all my early quilts.

Still, I use them often.  I ended up with all of them because in my large throw rag quilt, I use 7″ blocks.  My wedding quilts use 7″ blocks.  They started piling up.

And now they still work out to be a great size for me.  When I need 6.5″ HSTs, what do you need?  7″ squares.

And they worked out perfectly for this quilt as well.  I pulled out (120) 7″ blocks from that basket and trimmed them down to 6.5″ for these two quilts.

They have 2″ squared corners that I pulled from a basket that just holds 2″ squares.

These were really great quilts to use up some of those squares.  For two quilts, I pulled 240 squares and looking at that basket you cannot even tell I did.  Why is it always that way?

How many squares could possibly be in that still overflowing basket?

I was careful to stay away from pink for this quilt, since it was not a loved color for Emma.

I could quite settle on a color palette for her, but I think it worked any way.

My husband, Wade, drew all the diagonal lines for stitching purposes on the 2″ squares.  He also trimmed the tails off of all the blocks after I sewed the corners on so technically he did help make these quilts.

For Alyssa’s quilt, I had a definite color palette chosen.  One that I have always wanted to use, seen several times in other quilter’s work and had plenty of the squares to pull off.

As always, I did an all over quilting design using a meander.  I find this step so therapeutic.

I recently heard someone ask why anyone would finish a quilt this way and I was a little surprised.

I know it’s simple quilting, but that’s one of the reasons I like it.  By the time I get to the quilting phase I’ve put in so many hours into this quilt.  I’m ready to zone out and just move that quilt here and there in twirly rounds until it’s done.

If I had a longarm machine I’d probably want to add even more creativity to the quilt.  I do understand that.  I wonder if it would give me that same relaxing feeling as the meander does on my standard sewing machine.

I love this simple quilt design.  It was easy to get done and it used up a lot of scraps.

I always feel like patting myself on the back for using my scraps, like I’ve done something frugal and good.  It also always feels like a burden has been lifted and I’m not wasting fabric or cluttering up my space with the continued holding on to them.

If you like my labels I sell them in my shop here.

They can be completely customized to fit you, down to the font, the words, and even the clipart.

Quilt Details

Blocks measure: 6.5″

There are 120 blocks. 10 rows across and 12 rows down.

Use your scraps OR cut (120) 6.5″ strips of fabric from yardage.  Subcut each strip into (6) 6.5″ squares.

The corners are 2″ squares.  There are 240 of those in this quilt.  2 per each 6.5″ square.

I drew a line down the diagonally of each 2″ squares then sewed them on two corners of each 6.5″ square diagonally.

Very similar to my snow ball pattern shown here except that instead of doing all 4 corners, I only did 2.

These are easy and quick quilts.

I’d like to do them again, but instead of using low volume corners, I use a bold color like black, or something that stands out more than the low volume does.

Hope your January is off to a good start!

xo, Melanie

One thought on “The scrapbuster quilts

  1. Pingback: Migration quilt |

Leave a Reply

