Imperfections and all

I bought this lone star for a ridiculously low price. I thought I’d hit the lottery. 

One look at those fussy cut flowers within the star and there was no possible way I was passing this one up. 

Someone from many years ago sit there and cut out all those pieces and then hand stitched them altogether. 

And it’s not just the fussy cutting. Have a look at her exquisite way with colors. 

This is not a quilt I would ever make in the near future. It would take me a bajillion years. 

I knew right away I wanted to put it on a navy background, but others (aka. The husband) said pale blue. 

It was at this point that I realized just why my lone star was priced so low. 

I couldn’t get it to lie flat. No amount of pressing or starch made it lie flat. I though of not finishing it and thought that maybe that was the reason it had been left unfinished by its maker. 

It’s a bit wonky, a bit skewy. And that’s how things go with quilts made 60-80 years ago. They didn’t have the tools we enjoy now. Can you imagine hand cutting every piece of fabric you need?

Me and my rotary cutter are BFF’s. We cut every fabric together. 

I went through this quilt and found no reason why it wasn’t lying flat. There was anything wrong with it. 

I read about lone star quilts, how to add those squares and triangles to finish it up. And thought maybe then it would lay flat. 

Nope. Still skewy. 

For those wanting to know how to add the background…

I measured the corner of the star to the tip, which should be square, added a 1/4″ and then stitched each corner on. 

For the inner triangles, I took that same size square and cut it diagonally. 

The biggest tip I have for this, is to start stitching in the center and sew outward, instead of vice versa. This way you can trim off your extra if you have measured wrong. 

I was very upset that this beautiful lone star was gonna have to be quilted with folds and tucks to be able to get squared up and lay flat, but that is exactly what I did. 

Where things puckered I folded down and quilted over it. 

I tried to minimalize this as much as possible within the star and keep it in the background, but there is a bit of tucking inside it too. 

However…..

How could I complain?  Look at that star!

Someone on Instagram said something to me that I loved, she said, “it makes me feel better about myself to know that someone who could make something this amazing could also be imperfect.”

I just love that. 

I quilted in a meander all over. As always. 

And for the back, and because I secretly wanted to keep this for myself instead of sale it I used those adorable vintage girls on bikes by Tasha Noel. Along with two other prints of hers. 

I cannot quilt staring at that star. It looks like the brightest thing coming out of the night darkness. 


Can you see the folds and tucks?

Here is a close up.

What would you have done?  Would you have left it unfinished?  Did I do the right thing?


You cannot even tell much from this view. 

So even though this looks just lovely in my own room, the mortgage needs paid and my daughter starts college this fall which has already started its drain on my pocketbook. 

It is for sale, imperfections and all. You can find it listed in my etsy shop here. I hope you will love it just as it is. 

πŸ’œ, Melanie 

3 thoughts on “Imperfections and all

  1. Pingback: a look back at 2016 |

Leave a Reply

