Ireland Quilt

  
I feel like work has taken a back burner to the rest of my life. And I have been falling more and more behind. 

There has been a prom. Which didn’t just include the hecticness of the day OF the prom, but also included endless dress shopping and then all accessories. 

Then there was a craft fair. 

   
 
It stole a whole weekend. And then this happened….

   
 Not my idea!

And then this…

  
A trip back to Atlanta to see Mumford and sons. 

And ALL this in such a short bit of time has taken its toll. Of course, I wouldn’t trade any of this for the world, I need breaks, but even so, they get me behind. 

And especially when I have not given myself enough time to create the single most complicated quilt I have made to date. 

  
I take that back. It was not complicated, it was tedious. And then that is an understatement, this quilt worked out painfully slow. 

However…

  
I think it might be worth it. 

This is a custom order. I doubt I would have ever went for a triple Irish chain quilt on my own. They are beautiful, but it’s more the 2,122 pieces of fabric this included. 

And let’s not forget the dresdens. 

  
So my customer chose the colors, fabric, and pattern and I think she did a marvelous job. 

It might have moved slow, but it was enjoyable. For me that me as lots of chain piecing and Netflix, and what more could a girl ask for?  

  
  
I could not find a pattern that I just really loved. So I took a pattern and tweaked it quite a bit. I’ll probably post it as a tutorial. 

My blocks are huge. 22″ to be exact. 

  
So I’m calling this my Ireland quilt, a place i’d really love to go one day. 

I was interested in the history of this pattern and it is a pattern that actually originated in Ireland. You can read more about that here. 

πŸ’œ, melanie

Leave a Reply

