A storybook version of the Honey Butter Quilt

   
 
I’ve been working on a custom order for my Honey Butter quilt.   This time with a story book theme. I told myself that the best way to achieve a story book theme would be to dip into my Heather Ross stash. 😬 

I keep all my Heather Ross fabrics in their own basket, away from all the other fabrics bc well, they are special, most out of print, they are the sweetest, most adorable fabrics. If I could save one thing from my sewing room from danger it would be…. The Bernina and the Heather Ross fabrics. That’s two things, but you see how high up there they are. 😊 

I rarely use them. In fact I’ve only used them in two or three projects since I started collecting them. 

But I decided they were too perfect for this project not to use. 

  
Here are just a few. You’ll also see some Sarah Jane fabrics and a very old Alexander Henry fabric of owls I ran across in my stash. 

The cuteness has been owning me all week as I’ve worked on this. 

  
Also, this is the first quilt where I have tried using starch on my blocks. I will be using starch on every quilt from here on out. I think it made piecing easier for me and I didn’t work so hard to get everything lined up. Chain piecing especially was a breeze with it. 

I just used a grocery store brand, nothing special, but next time I will probably try to find something that smells extra nice. 

  
I usually give my half square triangles a little light press on the back to open the seams and then flip it over and press it down harder. And now I’ll be using starch before I do that. And then so on and so on until the block is complete. It feels much crisper. 

  
If you have any tips on starch please feel free to leave them in the comments section. 

πŸ’œ, melanie

One thought on “A storybook version of the Honey Butter Quilt

  1. So in love with this quilt already!! I can’t imagine what it will look like in person. My daughter Sarah Ann doesn’t know or understand yet how special this quilt is!! Quilt that will be treasured for years to come!!

Leave a Reply

