Star Dance Quilt – finished

  

This quilt. It’s fabrics grew on me. The simple block. Plenty of white. 

  
It reminded me of why I love quilting. 

Would you believe me if I told you that my husband drew all the lines in the blocks for my half square triangles?  Would you believe me if I told you he trimmed them all down to 5.5″ too?

  
Well, believe it!  

  
I sat for a whole day putting each of my blocks together. 4 HSTs, 4 print corners and 1 white solid in the middle. 42 times. 

In and out of my studio, family members strolled. Asking questions. Come and help me. Where is dinner?  A break for tea. And still the block making continued. 

Then I basted, then I quilted. Then I trimmed and binded. 

That is the tedious process. The process that I happen to adore. 

I am bummed I didn’t take a picture of the back of this one. I backed it with an Anna Maria Horner print. The one with all the feathers, linen. 

It’s gone to its new home now, where I hope it makes someone very warm and cozy. 

I am taking custom orders on this quilt. Find that info here. 

πŸ’œ, melanie

One thought on “Star Dance Quilt – finished

  1. Pingback: a look back at 2016 |

Leave a Reply

