I finished it! -hand cut heart quilt

  
This might be the most fun I’ve had making a quilt. It felt easy, rewarding. Every piece of the fabrics for the hearts came from my basket of strips. 

For the low volumes I used mostly the fabrics I’ve been getting each month in my little low volume club from pink castle fabrics. But I wanted it extra scrappy so I pulled from my stash as well for those. 

  
Mostly I just love the red and pink together. I love how the hearts are all different shapes. I love that each were cut free hand. They are not quite perfect. 

   
 
I pulled out a few hearts to save for some pillow covers I plan to finish up this week and in the blocks missing a heart, I just quilted one in hot pink thread. 

   
 
I quilted in my usual meander. 

  
On the back I used some larger pieces I had of some heather Bailey fabric. Her nicely Jane line. It’s been on my shelves for years. 

  
And for the binding I used a pat bravo print. I don’t know the name of it, but it’s gold with different shades of pink flowers. 

I feel like I rarely get my binding fabric just right, but in this case I’m loving it. 

  
This quilt sold pretty quickly, but I do have it listed as a made to order item and so that you can customize colors if you like. Find that here

If you are interested in the details of making this quilt, I’ve posted other details here and here

💜, Melanie 

6 thoughts on “I finished it! -hand cut heart quilt

  1. Pingback: Tula Pink hand cut heart quilt |

  2. Pingback: Hand Cut Heart Block Tutorial |

  3. Pingback: Hand cut heart quilt – again, but with less bold colors |

  4. Pingback: Quilt Reveal – Hand Cut Heart Quilt #6

Leave a Reply

