A basketweave quilt

  
There are baskets that are toppling over. And why am I saving it if I only add to it and never use it. 

This basket that you see holds short (under 10″ strips of fabric), usually 2-4″ wide. 

When i cut blocks for patchwork it’s the little bit leftover. Too big to be thrown away, so into the basket it goes. 

This year I want to put a large dent into this basket. This means strippy quilts. I might even like to give a big chunk of it away. 

But back to it….  I pulled out all the blues, aquas and greens (you couldnt tell I pulled anything). 

  
I trimmed 336 prints into 2.5×6.5″ rectangles. I also cut up 168 2.5×6.5 rectangles in black fabric for background. I sewed them in sets of three for a total of 168 6.5″ blocks. 

  
Then made these blocks. 12.5″. I ended up with 42 blocks. 

  
They were payed out in 6 across and 7 down. This should make a twin quilt. 73×84″. 

   
 
I just finished quilting it. I’ll show that off  as I’m done binding and washing. 

Off to bed now. 

๐Ÿ’œ, Melanie 

One thought on “A basketweave quilt

  1. Pingback: Finished. Basketweave quilt.ย  |

Leave a Reply

