Another Honey Butter Quilt – this time with the sweetest fussy cuts

IMG_2262

I am onto a new obsession.  Black and white low volume prints.  Like crazy in love, meant to be together kind of stuff.  Soul mates.

I received a couple of orders that required a scrappy stash of B&Ws, so started buying them here and there.  You might remember that I was fascinated with them at the end of last year too, but this year I’ve taken it to a whole new level.unnamed

There are SO many B&W prints!  This is not even a drop in the bucket of what I’ve been collection.

I was to make another Honey Butter quilt.  OH, how I love this quilt.  I think it’s my most favorite in my shop.

My lovely customer requested teal, black and white, mermaids, unicorns, 13 year old girly things, and zebra prints.

IMG_2259

I took the opportunity to do some fussy cutting.

IMG_2316

Honey Butter is made up of churn dash blocks.  The pattern is here.

IMG_2329

The unicorn is Heather Ross, the tiny horses are Cotton & Steel, the mermaid is Sarah Jane and the bottom horse is Bari J.

I tried to give it a color palette that incorporated the teal, and added some more colors that could grow with her.  Fuchsias, pinks, mint, aquas, corals.  Don’t they look great with the B&W?

IMG_2345

The quilt is made up of large churn dashes and small churn dashes.  For the small, I made them all with the zebra print they wanted and the black and white dots.

IMG_2349

IMG_2358

I just love quilting.  I’m sure that’s obvious, but really, watching a quilt come together, day by day, falling in love with it more everyday, it’s just (insert a big ol’ sigh here).

IMG_2363

IMG_2364

IMG_2365

I backed it with black and white gingham (for some reason I always forget to get a picture of the back). Quilted with a meander and binded with a teal solid.

IMG_2366

This one hurt to sent off.  I packed it up in brown paper and string and was so sad to see it go.  I know that it is going to a good home where it’s going to be loved madly.  But you put so much of yourself into the making of them.  Maybe that means I did a good job.  What could be more satisfying than putting your whole heart into something?

IMG_2367

Every time I send one off, especially the most special ones, I always wonder what will become of it in the far away future.  As much as I enjoy stumbling across gorgeous old quilts in antique stores, I wonder who could have possibly gave it up.  Why did they not keep it?  Or hand it down to their next generation?

I hope this one beings joy and warmth for years to come.

signature

One thought on “Another Honey Butter Quilt – this time with the sweetest fussy cuts

  1. Pingback: This Honey Butter is FINISHED! |

Leave a Reply

