Embroidered Photo Quilted Sham Cover

scq

I was watching a video on Creative Bug by Annabel Wrigley.  Once I saw the tutorial, I knew I wanted to make one of these adorable embroidered photo pillows, but with my own twist.

I didn’t fall any of the tutorial, instead just used the photo embroidery idea from it.

I had my photo printed on fabric by Spoonflower on the canvas twill fabric.

FullSizeRender

The picture was supplied by one of my sweetest customers, McKaila, of her daughter Violet.

I turned her photo into this using Photoshop.

IMG_1623

I took her photo and cropped it, and then turned it to black and white, turning up the contrast very high.

I then uploaded it to spoonflower, chose their 8×8″ swatch option for $5 on the cotton twill.

Then I embroidered it with lazy daisies and french knots.

IMG_1716

IMG_1718

I put a little coral bracelet on her arm as well.

After the embroidery, I trimmed the photo down to a perfect 8″ square.  I also cut up an 8×8″ square in white, sewed it and the photo together, right sides together and left a gap for turning.  Then, turn and press the gap closed, but don’t sew it yet.  Just sit it aside.

I chose a pillow size and quilted it, and then sewed the photo square directly to the middle of it.

scq4

scq3

scq2

The pillow is made with an envelope closure.  Once it was completed, I added the pom poms.  There are lots of good tutorials online for those and then stitched them to the corners.

This pillow is available as a custom made item in my shop here.

signature

Leave a Reply

