Elsa Medallion Quilt Part 3

I worked on the Elsa Medallion quilt some today (not alot).  I’ve got two weeks to the day that this thing needs to be completed and ready to gift to my niece.

If you would like to make this with me, here are steps 1 & 2.  I’m also putting all the steps in my ‘tutorials’ tab so that they will always be there.  I am adding them as I finish each step.

So what is an Elsa / Frozen quilt without some snowflakes?  I think they are a must and I’ve been scouring snowflakes blocks all over the internet trying to find some and I did find some, but I can’t remember where I found it.

Here is what we are adding during this step.

DSCN0531

Snowflakes.  There is going to be 4 of them on each corner and a solid border of white around the rest of our quilt top.

Here is what you need:

4 5-inch blocks (I used gray)

4 1-inch WOF strips in the background color (shown here in white), subcut into 16 1×8-inch strips

16 1.5-inch background blocks

4 4.5×30.5-inch background strips

Here we go.

Take your 4 gray 5-inch blocks and cut diagonally.

DSCN0517 DSCN0518 DSCN0519

Now add one of your 1×8-inch strips to one side of your triangle.  They are going to be longer than you need, but we will fix that later.

DSCN0520

Ooo, I forgot to tell you to use a 1/4″ seam allowance throughout!  Once you have this sewn press to the white strip.

Next add your opposite triangle back to the other side of the white strip.

DSCN0521

Be sure to line them up correctly.  You can use your corners to make you get the triangle centered.

Once sewn, press to the white strip.

DSCN0522

Now lay out on your cutting mat and cut again down the opposite corners.

DSCN0523

Line up again but use your white strips as your guide to make sure you are centering the gray blocks back together.  Sew it and press to the white strip once more.  You should end up with an x on your gray block.

DSCN0524

Do the same thing again, but this time you are going down the middle of the block laying straight.  Use your x to get your block centered.  Cut it, sew another white strip and press again.  EAch time you cut the block, sew a white strip to one side.  Press it to the white strip then add the other side of the block.  You are doing this over and over until you have all the white strips sewn in.

DSCN0525

DSCN0527

Your blocks should end up looking like this.  Hopefully, not too skewed, but it looks like one of mine ended up that way.  Now trim them up to 4.5-inches.  I used a fussy cut ruler, but you done have to have one to get it done.

Now it’s time to use those little 1.5-inch background blocks.

You are going to put a block on each corner of your gray blocks.

DSCN0528

Sew each one diagonally.  Press to the corner.

DSCN0529 DSCN0530

Now trim 1/4-inch from where you just sewed.  Open those corners up and press to the corner.

Your snowflakes are done.  Now for the rest of the borders.

Take 2 of your 4.5×30.5″ background strips and sew them to the side of your quilt top.  Press to the border you just added.

Take your snowflake blocks and sew them to the other 2 4.5×30.5-inch background strips, one on each side.  Like this.  Press away from the snowflake.

DSCN0532

Sew one of these strips each to the top and bottom of your quilt top. Be sure to line up correctly and press towards the inner part of the quilt top.

Your Elsa Medallion Quilt should now look like this.

DSCN0533

As much as I love the snowflakes and wanted to add more, those blocks are just a little fussy for me, so I think 4 of them are enough for me.

Hopefully, I will get the next row up soon.  I’m running out of time!  If you are making this with me, PLEASE show me.  I’m on instagram @southerncharmquilts.

011315_1357_HowtoMakeSc8.jpg

Leave a Reply

