Schnitzel & Boo Mini Quilt Swap (Sent) + Quilt Labels + Working on a new Honey Butter Quilt + Another Orange Peel Quilt

I am combining what should have been several posts into one.  So forgive me for the overload of pictures.

 image1

Last November or December, I signed up for my second mini quilt swap.  The Schnitzel and Boo one.  It was a really big swap.  I think next time I’m going to try and participate in smaller swaps.  But anyway, my partner made an inspiration board for me and one of the quilts she had  liked had these tiny hearts on it, so I decided to use those for the center of my log cabins.  Above is the design I came up with.  Super scrappy.  Like my last swap, I’m nervous about this one too.

image3

I quilted it with a very dense meandering stitch.

image4

And here is the finished mini, along with some of the gifts I included.  Hopefully, I will hear from my partner soon and it will be loved.  Fingers crossed.  These swaps are a little bit stressful, but a lot of fun once everything is received and done.

011315_1357_HowtoMakeSc6.png

A couple of weeks ago I received an order for some quilt labels.

image11 image13

You can read more about this process here.  I can do almost any design so feel free to make requests.  This. was a custom design.  I sell them in bundles of 1, 9, and 42.

What I really like is how they attach to the quilt.  You would sew a line across the top of the label on the corner of your quilt and then the binding would close up the edges.  You can see pics and directions in the last link.

011315_1357_HowtoMakeSc6.png

image2

I’ve been working on a custom order for another orange peel quilt.  See all my other orange peel quilts here.  For some reason this is the only pic I took of this one getting made.  I’ll post finished pics later this week.

011315_1357_HowtoMakeSc6.png

And last but not least, for the past 3-4 days I have been working on a queen size Honey Butter quilt.    Last year, Honey Butter was my very favorite quilt I’d ever made.  That said, I think I like this one even better.  Instead of being no rules scrappy this one is mainly navy and beige with bits of coral thrown in.  I might be falling hard for this one and not sure how to send it on its way to its new home.

image5

This quilt uses a lot of time pieceing half square triangles.  The queen size consists of 1,216 pieces of fabric.  So yeah, it has pretty much taken over my sewing room.

image6

I like to work with Netflix on it the background.  It makes the time pass by happier.

image7

Honey Butter has two different blocks used in it, large churn dash and a smaller churn dash with borders.

image8

At the beginning of this year I started following along with the Sew My Stash 2015 challenge.  This quilt and the Mini Swap Quilt at the top of this post all came from my stash.  This one used a huge chunk, but not huge enough, b/c I still have fabric coming out of every corner.

image9

Here is this one getting it’s blocks pieced together.

image10

And then basted on the wall.

Confession:  I’ve been sewing regularly since 2008 and this is the first quilt I have ever bought a fat quarter bundle for.  I have never liked them.  They seem expensive for the money.  I ALWAYS buy fabric by yardage or bolt.  But lately, I have been really looking at them and they are so pretty all bundled up and coordinated for you.  I was a little low on navy blues when I started this quilt and I wanted this quilt to be scrappy, so I took the plunge and bought one fat quarter bundle here.  It was in all navys.  The reason I did was because I wanted a lot of different navy prints and I didn’t need much of them.  I’m glad I did and my only regret is not buying a low volume bundle as well.  I think I’ll definitely see more fat quarter bundles in my future.

image14

And getting quilted.

Hugs.

011315_1357_HowtoMakeSc8.jpg

Leave a Reply

