How to Make Scrappy Binding + A customer picture

The other day, I showed you my new Black Butterfly quilt with it’s scrappy colorful binding.

I used scrappy binding on this particular quilt to give it some pop in its black and white world, but there are many other reasons to use it to, such as when I can’t decide on binding, or I have too many scraps and should try and use them. The latter is my main reason.

So a year or so ago, I took one of Camille Roskelley’s classes on Craftsy, and she showed this roll of scrappy binding she keeps for projects such as this. Every time she binds a quilt and she has a small piece leftover (happens here a lot), she adds it to the roll of scrappy binding. I now do this religiously.

And it’s constantly growing. It grows until it can no longer fit into the lovely little milkglass that it has lain claim to. That’s fine, it will be there when I need it and in the meantime, I don’t have to feel guilty about tossing perfectly good fabric. I continue to roll it up each time there is a new piece of binding, and worry about that later.

So now that you have your roll, what next?

This is how I do it:

I measure all four sides of my quilt and add 10 inches to that. For this quilt, I think I ended up with 302 inches of binding needed. Next, I undone my roll of scrappy binding and chose pieces that I preferred to use. I got out my calculator and started adding them up (I usually add them up minus 1 inch to allow for seam allowances). For example, the yellow pieces is 10 inches, the red/pink was 12 inches and so on and so on until I have a minimum of 302 inches.

Next, you would make binding as you always do, but most of this is already done. I sew my ends together then press just a little and that’s it, scrappy binding!

One tiny note, I usually put the longer pieces of scrappy binding on the ends. If you used a shorter piece, say 10 inches or less, there is a good chance that piece wouldn’t even make it into the quilt once you sew it on your quilt since you usually leave an 8-10 tail on each side of the binding.

I’m happy to answer questions if you have any.

This picture was sent to me by one of my sweet customers, Cari. This is the Notting Hill in poppy quilt that you can find here. Thank you, Cari, SO much for sharing this picture.

Leave a Reply

