Black Butterfly Quilt Reveal

It’s done!

I’m very glad I’m done with this one. The blocks were so big they were kinda hard to maneuver about easily. With that said, it was a super quick finish. I worked on it an hour or two for the quilt top, maybe 3 different days.

My favorite print used is definitely the months text print. You can find all and more black and white low volume prints on my pinterest board here.

Black Butterfly measures approx. 70×70 inches, perfect for snuggling on a sofa.

I went back and forth with an idea for quilting. I started to just leave the black of the butterflies un-quilted, but sometimes I’m not a fan of how it makes it droop/pop out of the quilt and since it was such a big space I decided to just quilt it just like the rest of the quilt. I’m happy with my decision.

For the back, I used black and white gingham from Riley Blake Fabrics. For the binding, I used scrappy colorful prints. I’m planning a tutorial on how to make scrappy binding tomorrow, so I will talk more about that then.

And just in case you missed the inspiration behind this quilt and the making of it, you can read that here.

This quilt is for sale in my Etsy shop here. But if you are interested in this design in a different color palette or size, you can order that and customize it yourself here or here.

Thanks so much for following along!

One thought on “Black Butterfly Quilt Reveal

  1. Pingback: How to Make Scrappy Binding + A customer picture

Leave a Reply

