Update on the Honey Butter Quilt + All about Message blocks

For weeks I have been doing just a little bit of piecing everyday on the churn dash blocks for my Honey Butter quilt. You remember Honey Butter from the original design here and the rules I created for it here.

When I first started piecing it I was a little worried. You remember this quilt, well, it had sort of the same rules and I never liked how that one came out. The fabrics I chose for the background felt too busy in the finished design. These background fabrics for Honey Butter were just the same.

But when I finished off the blocks and took a look, I loved it. I’m not sure what the difference is, but those rules work for this quilt. Have a look.

This quilt is made up of 2 different blocks. A large churn dash and a small churn dash with a border around it.

For the center of each block I’ve used medium dots in brown on cream from Riley Blake, just to give the blocks a little something in common. Everything else comes from my stash baskets, even the borders on the smaller blocks. This might be my very favorite blocks I’ve ever done. I’m crazy for the scrappiness of them. I’m hoping I can get the blocks all stitched together today, but we’ll see what happens.

This is the very first quilt I created on EQ7. I had a lot of trouble figuring it out how to work it (of course that was my fault with refusing to read instructions) I have a real problem with that. But once I got the hang of it, easy peasy. Every night for the past week, I’ve been sitting in my bed, my computer screen aglow creating scrappy quilt pattern after quilt pattern. So I’ve actually got a lot lined up for the next couple of months. The program was expensive, but I could not be happier with it. I’m glad I finally took the plunge and purchased it.

I get a lot of questions about my message blocks. So I wanted to take the time and talk about them here so in the future I can just refer someone and make it a little easier on myself.

Message blocks.

You see a lot of this in my shop. I have a separate listing for a message block that can be added on to any quilt here. I also have message blocks as an add on to quilts in the options before adding the item to your cart on memory quilts and on wedding quilts.

Let me be very clear. I can put ANYTHING on this block. Words. A picture. A drawing by your kid. An old Love letter. Initials. Dates. Names. Anything that you can possibly dream up. I create them in photoshop and send my graphics to a fabric company that transfers it on to fabric. I do not iron it on, glue it on, or anything cheap like that. This is real fabric. It’s not going to peel off or wrinkle or disintegrate after being washed.

Here is my latest example of one in a quilt:

It’s the same size as all the other blocks in your quilt. You can choose your own font. I have lots available. Here are few more examples of just the graphics I’ve done.







As you can see it really is up to you. You tell me what you want, I create a graphic in photoshop, send it to you for approval and then once you approve I send it to the printers. Also, if you are making your own quilt and just want the fabric with the graphics on it. I have that available in my pattern shop here.

So that is all for now folks. Thanks for following along with me and your continued support!

Leave a Reply

