Some Custom Work and a New Crib Set

Hello, friends!

If you follow along with me on Instagram then you probably already saw a picture of this quilt.

I have been working on it off and on for about a week now. It is a custom order from my etsy shop inspired by this quilt.

My first go round making the Bloom quilt I found the dresdens to be a bit tedious.

With this version I broke it up into several days. On the first day I cut all my blades for the flowers. On another day, I laid them out and stacked them up. They get 20 blades per bloom and I had seven blooms. On the next day, I chain pieced all the blades together. Days after that was spent, putting on the flower face, and then of course the rest of the quilt.

The flower face I did a bit different this time too. I used interfacing and stitched it on right sides together and then turned the face inside out. So they have no raw edges. Yay! I am not a fan of applique, but even I can enjoy making this.

I quilted the quilt without the Dresden plates on it. I used my walking foot and just made diagonal lines. I’ve been doing a lot of quilting lately and really playing with designs, but I have to admit that I don’t like using the walking foot. It’s great for binding. Saves me so much time on binding and I can’t imagine going back to not using it for that step, but on the quilting. It’s very boring. And very TIMECONSUMING.

After the quilt was quilted, I went back and put the blooms on it and quilted them down.

There was also a name and bible scripture added to it. The lady that purchased the quilt had the letters sent to me and I just stitched them down.

If you are interested in a Bloom quilt for yourself you can find it here.

This was another custom order that I just finished up. It’s my Follow Your Arrow quilt, but in happy little girly colors. I LOVE the black polka dot binding.

I’ve told you how much I have been enjoying learning to free motion quilt. Well, I just can’t say enough about it. I did curls on this quilt and I think it’s my favorite that I’ve tried so far. This quilt came out of the wash just about perfect. It was in the perfect state of crinkleness, soft and if it had been bigger I might have just wrapped it around me and snuggled for a bit.

I think the quilts look so much better with this level of quilting than before.

It was actually part of a nursery set that is now listed in my shop.

Find all of it here.

Thanks so much for reading and have a lovely day!

Leave a Reply

