Lots of New-ness

First things first. I have been working on some beasts of projects for orders and have completely given up hope on starting a new scrappy quilt, which is what you know I want to be doing. The beasts of projects have kept me busy and my head down. I am seeing light at the end of the tunnel and my head is turning to rise.

I have one more beast to get through before I will start this project that I talked about a while back.

When I say beast, please don’t think ugly, they are anything but. Please think time consuming and difficult, but the end result is more than worth it.

I just finished this one.

At first glance and first thought, I was thinking this would be an easier custom order. After all, it’s not a whole quilt, just a bed runner. WRONG. It features 190-something half square triangles made with LINEN. Oh, yes.

I thought I might never finished. My neck hurt so badly on the quilting and the trimming that I almost felt like I needed some time off, but I carried on and got it done and it almost hurt to send it to its rightful owner. I was thinking how lovely it would look at the foot of my own bed.

I truly hope it’s loved. My incredibly nice customer Lynn designed it all herself. She did such a great job with it.

If you think you yourself might like a bed runner, I have ‘mazey triangles’ listed in my ETsy shop here.

If you want to design your own as well, I’m only an email away.

I have been enjoying learning how to free motion quilt. For those of you who do not sew or quilt, free motion quilting is where I lower the feed-dog (aka. The gadget that pulls my quilt backwards on a sewing machine), and move the quilt around freely in any design or direction I choose. This opens up a lot of possibilities for the quilting design and doesn’t limit me to straight line quilting.

I have made myself a board of pinterest quilting designs I hope to try in the near future.

Here is a custom order I finished just the other day and did a meandering quilting design.

Learning new tricks makes my job so much more fun and exciting for me.

Remember this?

Well I got some of what I was working on done.

I was working on aprons. Yes, adorable, half vintage, half modern, aprons. I think I’m in LOVE.

They are quick, they are easy, and I made three of them. One I am keeping and two I have listed in my Etsy shop.

Find them and all their details here.

And finally, last but not least. I have created a new guest book quilt with pictures.

Find out all about these here.

So that is it for now. Hope it was picture overload for you. Have a lovely Sunday!!

Leave a Reply

