Spray Basting on the Wall Tutorial

I’ve been wanting to do this tutorial for a while, but this one is kind of hard for me to get good pictures of. I’ve tried twice and still the pictures are bad. It’s hard to show in pictures, but I’m going to try.

My son took these pics for me since I couldn’t do both. The hallway is extremely narrow with horrible light so just bear with me.

Spray basting is an alternative to pin basting. I’m not a fan of pin basting. I don’t like spreading a quilt on the floor, I don’t like crawling all over on top of it. I don’t like how I never have room for it and more than anything I don’t like putting the pins in or even worse, taking the pins out. And if you dislike something so much, you’ll end up giving it up and we couldn’t have that so the alternative is spray basting.

I use 505 adhesive spray.

This is just a temporary adhesive but it lasts more than 24 hours, plenty of time to get your quilt quilted. It doesn’t leave any residue on my needle or machine. I do not like getting it on my fingers though, so stay clear of that. It doesn’t have a bad smell, but it does have a smell. I wouldn’t worry about it too much though, it doesn’t seem to last a long time. Once you wash your quilt the adhesive is gone. The only truly negative thing I can come up with about this product is the price. It’s pricy. So much more so than those pins. I think that goes to show how much I hate the pins. I’d rather pay more than to use them.

A bottle the size I’m holding is about $12-$18 depending on where you shop at. I can usually get several little quilts done with one bottle, or a big quilt and a small one.

To help it lasts a little longer, I do quick and short puffs of it at a time in multiple places. I used to just hold the nozzle down and spray, but that seems to really use the product up quicker and unnecessary. So use it like you are spray painting polka dots, quick dots of spray is what you want.

There are many ways of spray basting so don’t think that mine is the only or best way. It’s important to find a way of doing things that you like and that works best for you. We are all not the same. This is just the way I like to baste the best and the method I use every time I baste. Basting is still my least favorite part of quilting, but I don’t really mind it.

So here we go.

On a blank wall I’ve nailed nails in every 10-12 inches apart, all the way down my hallway. I’ve used like 15 nails. You might not need to use that many if you only make small quilts. I make a lot of bigger quilts. I also leave my nails up. I don’t take them in and out, I just use it too much, so I’ve picked a place that doesn’t have to be ‘pretty’.


I like to cut my batting and backing the same size and usually 5-8 inches bigger than my quilt top depending on the size quilt I’m working on.

Using safety pins hang your batting ONLY to the nails on the wall. Keep in mind that your adhesive spray will only be sprayed onto your batting. You will NOT spray it on the fabric.

Make sure that your batting is hanging straight without wrinkles or any kind of folds. If your batting isnt straight you will have bunches in your quilt. Sometimes depending on your batting that is hard to help, and you might have small bunches. I don’t spend too much time worrying about it, they usually fix in the wash if they are small. So don’t stress.

Here is batting just hanging on my wall.

Now starting from the top left corner, with your adhesive spray in one hand and your quilt backing in the other, spray some adhesive in a big enough spot to hold the corner down. I usually spray about 10 inches square type figure. Then place your quilt backing quickly on that spot.

See the top of my batting is sprayed and I’m smoothing the backing down on it.

Work your way left to right, spraying and smoothing all the way to end of the batting. When you are done make sure you have a nicely placed smooth quilt backing. It’s important that it’s smooth so that won’t have folds in it after you quilt it. If it’s not smooth, you might have to lift it off the batting, respray and smooth again.

After you have done across the top, lift the backing up in the middle of your quilt, so that you can spray the middle. Work your way out from middle to left and right and then down, spraying and smoothing, over and over again.

When you get done with your quilt back and after checking that it is attached well and without wrinkles. You are going to remove the quilt from the wall. DON’T TAKE OUT PINS. And flip it so that the batting is showing again.

Now your backing is on the wall and your batting is facing you. Time to put the quilt top on.

Using the same method you did with the quilt back, attach your quit top, spraying and smoothing, making sure there are no wrinkles.

If you have questions about this process, please put them in the comment section of this post and I will answer as soon as I can. If you have any ideas on making this process easier or better, I’d love to hear about it. I love watching and reading tutorials on how other folks make quilts. You never know what you are going to pick up that will help you along the way.

16 thoughts on “Spray Basting on the Wall Tutorial

  1. Well…. thank you Melanie!!!!
    I’ve just found a fabulous new use for my hallway!!!
    It really does take a village to get stuff done!

    Melisa

    • You measure your quilt top, then make the backing and batting 2-4″ larger on all sides, depending on your quilt size. Cut to measurements. Then just glue the quilt top in the center…you have measured it, so you’ll know how far from the edges to place it.

  2. I used spray basting once. It left my project speckly. The fabric didn’t lay smoothly. I don’t think I used 505 though. Seems like it was a June Taylor product. It also made my needle sticky when I bound the quilt. Had to do it on the kitchen floor so naturally I had to put down protection for the floor. I used trash bags, which also made the stability of the quilt hard. I might try it again on a smaller project, as I did not wash the quilt before I gave it to my friend for her baby.

  3. Is there a reason for only spraying the batting? I’m inclined to hang the backing on the wall first, but I wonder if have already tried that, and discovered that works better to spray the batting instead.

    Thank you for posting this! I’ve been thinking about putting foam board on the wall in my hallway, but I like this idea better. πŸ™‚

    • It’s easier to get the fabric where you want it on the batting, than it is to get the batting where you want it on the fabric. If that makes sense. The directions on the can also mentions spraying on only batting, but I have tried it both ways and prefer spraying the batting.

      Good luck!!

  4. Thanks for sharing this. I am going to try this on my next quilt. I also dread getting on the floor and putting all of those safety pins in my quilt. I think the pins make too many holes and sometimes they can even tear the fabric. This seems like an awesome alternative.

  5. i saw something like this before but the person who showed it used ceiling board to attache the lining to first. it was a lot like this but i cant find the video. thanks for the help because i don’t have the space on the floor and i don’t do well on the floor.i am going to try to hang mine like yours.thanks once again

  6. Pingback: Solving the 5 common free motion quilting problems - The Little Mushroom Cap

Leave a Reply

