Pixie Love is done.

Pixie Love is done, but she’s bulky and huge and hard to take pictures of. I can barely hold her up. It measures 90×98 inches, perfect for a queen size bed. And as promised I have the complete tutorial to make one yourself here.

I used a whole bunch of Fig Tree fabrics called Fresh Cottons, it’s an old line, but I had a whole stash of it cut up into blocks stuffed in the THE basket. I didn’t have the correct amount I needed so I rummaged through THE basket and found some matching ones. I’m looking at THE basket now and I can’t even tell I got 70 blocks out of there.

The blocks are all quilted diagonally, and then I quilted around the heart and then vertically on the background fabric.

This is a great scrap buster (the heart anyway). The reason I have so many 7-inch blocks is because I use them for many of my rag quilts. Cutting a 7-inch strip from a fabric yields 6 7-inch blocks with almost ZERO waste. For example if I cut 9-inch blocks, I end up with a 6-7 inch scrap piece, and I don’t like having scraps, I feel like I have to do something with them. I MUST use them and they limit you.

I do use other size blocks for my quilts, but I’m just saying I prefer to cut 7-inch blocks because of the little waste. Just in case you were wondering how I got so many 7-inch blocks.

The background fabric on this quilt is Moda Bella solid in peach. The backing is Moda muslin. The binding is Bonnie Christine’s Freshly picked in sherbet.

I have this quilt for sale right now here in my ETsy shop. But if you want a different size and color scheme, I have it here. And that is available in crib-king sizes.

Have a wonderful Monday!

Leave a Reply

