Sampler Quilt DONE!

I am done with this sampler quilt. I have never had a project take longer, never had something change so much from its original idea, and never EVER been so tired of working on a quilt.

Am I happy with it? Ehhh. On the fence. I still love the blocks, I still love the idea of sampler quilts, but I did so many things that I wish I could change.

 


I did learn a lot, so that is very important to me. I had been looking at endless sampler quilts on line, and I wanted it to be different so I went with a block sashing. Halfway finishing that and I regretted it. It was too late to scrap so I just went with it. I do like the wide gray border. That is Riley Blake solid in slate.

 

I do not like the sashing, but it’s done now and I think the finished look is okay.

 

The backing is just scrappy pieced.

I LOVE the binding. It’s from Amy Butler’s Lark line, one of the ikat looking ones. I forget the right name.

 

I have it for sale in my Etsy shop here. It is a one of a kind, I am not doing that again quilt. I’m taking a break from samplers for a while. I do hope it finds a home and somebody to love it. It’s super soft and has had so much time put in it. I feel like this quilt and I go way back and have a LONG friendship. I started this last year, remember?

This also marks another completion off of my ‘quilting goals’ for the year. Yay!

 

Leave a Reply

