The Irish Chain Quilt Reveal

First, it’s been a while since my last post. I stepped up in work to allow for some time off for spring break, got really close to getting things back on schedule, spent some time out of town, and now we are back to being more than a week behind. So I’ve been busy. Busy trying to catch up again, AGAIN. The hamster wheel goes round and round.

I feel like the shop needs a remodel too, a refresher, and me as well. I did enjoy my time away from working, but I always seem ready to get back to it and I’ve got lots of ideas.

We’ve had several of our popular fabric collections go away and I’ve had to take A LOT of listings out of the shop because of this, so the shop looks a little empty to me, but we’ve got some new stuff in the works, new fabrics, new ideas and hopefully this will be the remodel I am looking for.

I love work, but sometimes I feel like I do the same thing over and over, and most of the time sewing is my therapy, but sometimes I just need to sew something different. Sometimes, these ‘different’ projects sit untouched in a space and stare at me. Then, I’ll get busy with orders and feel bad about not working on it, and vice versa.

So I stopped what I was doing and finished the Irish Chain. It was time. I’d been working on it a little and staring at it since February. And it was time to move on.

So here is my very first Irish Chain Quilt.

Taking a picture of this enormous quilt proved to be its own monster, but I wanted to show off the pattern, so my husband stands on a step stool back there paining away for my pictures. And I still don’t like the picture.

There are 60 nice patch blocks and 60 solid blocks. So that is 540 little 3″ blocks. I think this might have been one of the easiest patterns I’ve done. There was really nothing to it. And I LOVE it, particularly all that natural color. I used Free Spirit’s Natural solid. The nine patches are mostly Amy Butler’s Belle fabrics, but there are few others as well.

 

This quilt makes me want to crawl up under it and stay there. Nice and warm.

I made new labels too!

I really like the binding in the navy blue. It’s from Riley Blake fabrics. I think it makes everything else pop.

I wish I could take better pics, but this thing was so big, it really made it impossible, even on a bed. It measured 91×110 inches.

I’ve got it for sale in my etsy shop here.

One thought on “The Irish Chain Quilt Reveal

  1. Pingback: Irish Chain |

Leave a Reply

