Chasing Diamonds- ready to ship crib quilt

When I have a smaller quilt to make for an order I like to make at least 2 of them. That way I’m not running the washer and dryer for just one small quilt, so I always make more than one at a time. I do this for my rag quilt as well unless it’s a big quilt. So I had an order for a patchwork minky quilt and since there were no orders like that one I went ahead and made one from the stash.

I had these fabrics bundled up together in my stash and I knew I wanted to use them for triangles. I love how you can do so much with a half square triangle. Versatile City. I went with this off centered diamond look.

I made the quilting follow the pattern that always catches my eyes in these quilts.

I like to watch TV on my PC while I piece quilts. It’s usually Netflix or ABC or AMC or something like that, but sometimes I just watch Craftsy videos. While I pieced this particular quilt I was watching the 2013 BOM free class with Laura Nownes. While watching her I found something that I was doing wrong (a little wrong). When I put my row of squares together I always pin them in the middle of the square, but she was pinning hers on the seam. I tried that method and all of my squares came out perfectly on point. I was a little ill that 5 years later of quilting and I just figured that out, but hey, I’m a dummy sometimes.

Here is the back. I had to piece it together. The main print is one from Amy Butler’s Lark fabrics and the yellow is from Art Gallery and the gray is just slate from Free Spirit.

Don’t you think this is such a happy soothing colored quilt? I LOVE these colors put together.

I have put this quilt for sale in my Etsy shop. You can find it here until it sells.

Leave a Reply

