Sawtooth Star Quilt Block

I spend a lot of time on Pinterest. When I’m at the doctor or dentist, or waiting on the kids in line at school, I’m usually on Pinterest. And I’m usually looking at quilts and quilt blocks, and ever since I started doing this, Sawtooth Star caught my eye. Such a simple block, but I think it might be my all-time favorite. I absolutely LOVE this one.

This is the first pattern that I made from my 501 Quilt Blocks book. I might have misread the instructions. I was expecting this to measure 12.5 once completed. The pattern said 12″ finished block. So I’m confused now about what finished and unfinished is. Up until now I thought I understood. My block barely measured over 11 inches, so I’m sure it was something I did wrong. I ended up having to add a border to get the 12.5 I needed. I’ve adjusted the measurements in the book so this won’t happen to me again.

Still I’d like to know if the block should have measured 12 or 12.5 inches. Anybody?

So one down and 500 to go from the book. This one will be going into the sampler quilt.

Just a bit of trivia, this block dates back to 1860.

2 thoughts on “Sawtooth Star Quilt Block

  1. The block should be 12 1/2 when you’ve finished piecing it, but once you put it into a quilt it will be 12, because you still have the extra 1/4 inch unsewn seam on each side.

Leave a Reply

