Dresden Plate Quilt Block

With Bon Iver playing in the background, I sat down and began sewing the petals on this one together. I was surprised at how easy this quilt block was. It looks difficult, but the hardest part to me was the ironing. It WAS time consuming. That being said, I still imagine that at some point I will be making a quilt full of these blocks with whimsical nine patch sashing. Until then, this one will be going in my sampler quilt.

The name Dresden plate had me curious so I looked up the origins of it and found this. This was a popular block in the 20s and 30s. I love that we are still using it today, just spruced up with more modern fabrics.

Leave a Reply

