Sugar Block Club- January Block- INTENTION

I am over the top, happy excited, and bursting at the seams with enthusiasm over this BOM club. This morning I very sleepily grabbed my Iphone as I do every morning before I actually get out of bed to read over emails and that kind of thing, kind of my little moments before I actually crawl out of bed. I saw the email from Amy at Stitchery Dickory Dock and the new block of the month for the Sugar Block Club and I think I might have squealed with glee.

I can’t believe only now am I participating in a quilt along. I should have done this ages ago.

Regardless, I’m happy and I got my January block done and posted.

Instead of searching for the perfect fabrics I just pulled some that I’ve had in my stash for some time now. I always knew I would use the Spa by Rosemarie Levins for a quilt for myself and this seemed like the perfect time. Both browns and the green in the middle are all from that fabric collection. The peach is something I just threw in there for pop. It is from Heather Bailey’s Bijoux. The cream fabric is actually osnaburgh. I wanted to do just cotton ivory, but I did not have any. I like the linen-like look though.

The block is called Intention. I didn’t have too much trouble with it. The middle block gave me some complications (I had stitched 2 of the triangles in the wrong order), but other than that I think it went smoothly. This does have to be the most difficult block I’ve done. I normally choose blocks that don’t have such small pieces, but I’m glad it was chosen for me and pushed me out of my comfort zone.

I already have it strung on twine across the studio for display.

If you are interested in joining the Sugar Block Club, you can do so here. If you want to read all my posts on this club, you’ll find that here. The flickr group is here.

2 thoughts on “Sugar Block Club- January Block- INTENTION

Leave a Reply

