Blocks for my Sampler Quilt

My very own Sampler quilt. I have to come up with a pattern, but before I do that I want to pick out the blocks I’d like to make. I have picked out blocks besides a couple that I have never made before.

Pin from here. Flying Geese. I am seriously digging anything with triangles on it lately.

From Dream Quilt Create The Dresden block. I think this one is out of my league, but I am trying to get out of my box and I’m going to go for it.

From Quilt Story Block in a block. I really like this one.

From Fave Quilts Log Cabin. This is one of my favorite looking blocks.

From Flickr Churn dash. I really like the simplicity.

From MisforMake Hexagons. Recently I cut up a bunch of hexagons on a whim. If you had seen me you would have laughed. I have some serious math flaws.

From Stitched In Color I forget the name of this one, but I like.

I also want a :

Nine patch

A Sawtooth star

Chevron

Half square triangle nine patch

Pinwheel

Half star diamond

Shooting star

Pieced border block

Stacked blocks

Herringbone block

Grandmother’s fan (maybe)

I want my sampler quilt to be maybe a twin size. I may not get to use all the blocks or I might have to add some, but you get the idea. I am somebody who taught myself to sew, quilt, and the like so I think my methods are very skewed. I want to learn the correct way at doing things. And I’m thinking that a normal size quilt block should measure 12.5 inches so that is what I want to do.

I’d like to use just my scraps and not buy fabric, so my quilt may come out a little color wonky. I do want to use a lot of white in it though.

So there it is. I’m ready to get started.

Leave a Reply

