Chevron Crib Quilt

So I know I’ve told you about my chevron quilt from here. Last night I did the quilting on it. It feels good to get out my little box some. I really love that I create quilts all day, but the same quilts over and over don’t do anything for my creativity. So I’m glad I decided to take this project on.

The quilting was not as bad as I thought it was going to be, but it was definitely not easier. One of the reasons I decided to do patchwork quilts in my shop was because of how easy the quilting process was. When quilting patchwork you work with one continuous line (I do machine quilts, not free motion) so then you lift your foot change directions and go on to another continuous line. Very easy.

If I did the same on the triangles I would end up with some stitched in the ditch and some not. I’m not a fan of stitching in the ditch so I didn’t want that. I ended up just letting the patterns move me, so you will see some stitched along the chevron pattern. The only problem with this was that it was a lot of moving around on the machine. I had to lift up the needle way too much.

So I’m going to play around with it and see if I can come up with something easier that I like.

I also did some straight line stitching, but I don’t like that either. My fabrics always move or bunch a little. Diagonal quilting is just a thousand times easier, but like I said I will play around with it.

I am very happy with the finished product. I just LOVE the feel of this thing quilted through all the layers instead of the other way I do.

For the backing I just used an all natural cotton that I hand dyed coral myself. And on the binding I used Joel Dewberry’s Opal in Blush. I picked this up at Free Spirit’s annual 40% off sale, and was hoping to use it soon. It’s not used in the quilt top but the color is so I thought it would look good there.

I am not a fan of putting on binding, but I really like how it looks. I had some trouble and had to read several posts on doing the corners. For some reason I like to wing things or just figure it out and then I almost always get stuck and have to look for help. Binding is actually easy if I had done it right the first time.

But I’m happy with it so that is that. I will definitely be making more of these, and also other half square triangle patterns. I like them so much. I’ve put this one in my shop, Ready To Ship, here. So we will see how it does.

Leave a Reply

